Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIO105 Introduction to Biology

Find Books

Search in the Library Catalog

Search the library catalog for books, eBooks, articles, DVDs, streaming videos, and more:

 
  • To request items for curbside pick-up, after clicking "Search", you must sign in with your NetID and password and then select the "Request" button.
  • Ebooks can be read or downloaded on a computer or electronic device. Off campus access will require your NetID and password.

For assistance, please contact us via:  phone: 203-285-2057  email: library@gatewayct.edu  text: 203-212-8329

Find Articles

Search the library databases below for articles. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to log-in with your MyCommnet NetID and password.

Looking for a specific journal?

Click HERE to see if we have a specific journal title in a database or print.

eBooks

Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central logo
Ebook Central - A full-text multidisciplinary collection of thousands of ebooks from a wide range of publishers. (Formerly known as ebrary)

eReference Books

Gale eBooks - St. Joseph Seminary - Yonkers, NYGale eBooks provides full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Search Credo Reference - an online reference library of full-text content from encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific titles and more.

Websites

Recommended Websites

The Biology Corner

The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers and students.  It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics for all levels, including introductory life science and advanced placement biology.

bioRxiv

A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.

The Catalogue of Life

The online database of the world's known species of animals, plants, fungi and micro-organisms.

Darwin Manuscript Project

The primary evidence for the birth and maturation of Darwin's attempts to explore and explain the natural world.

DNA Learning Center

The mission of the DNA Learning Center is to prepare students and families to thrive in the gene age.

Human Genome Project Information Archive

Includes educational resources and an extensive glossary of biology terms.

National Center for Biotechnical Information

The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Science.gov

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

Tree of Life Web Project

The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Getting Help

 
TXT Us: (203)212-8329

Gateway Library & Learning Commons | 20 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06510