Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EAS 102: Earth Science

Find Books

Search in the Library Catalog

Search the library catalog for books, eBooks, articles, DVDs, streaming videos, and more:

 
  • To request items for curbside pick-up, after clicking "Search", you must sign in with your NetID and password and then select the "Request" button.
  • Ebooks can be read or downloaded on a computer or electronic device. Off campus access will require your NetID and password.

For assistance, please contact us via:  email: library@gatewayct.edu  text: 203-212-8329  phone: 203-285-2057  

Reserve Textbook

Selected Books

Find Articles

Selected Databases

Selected Electronic Journals

Instructions

1. Click on a journal title above 
2. Select a database to search
3. Click "Search within this publication" and browse through the issues or if you are looking for a particular topic click "Advanced search" and key in your search terms.

 

 

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them

What is the difference between Library Databases and Internet Search Engines?

What is the difference between Library Databases and Internet Search Engines?

Library Databases

Search Engines

best resources for academic research

best for non-academic and general searches

Type of Information

Information are authoritative, accurate, reliable; e.g. scholarly articles, technical publications, eBooks, popular magazines, newspapers

entertainment, leisure related information, directory information, e.g. free personal and commercial information; very few free scholarly publications

Results

more manageable number of results, information are organized and indexed

millions of results, incomplete sentences from the website, not a summary

Review Process

articles are reviewed by scholars, professors and researchers

no review/editorial process with regard to content

Example

Academic Search Premier

Google

APA Citations

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - APA

APA Sample Paper
APA General Info

APA Style Guides

Plagiarism: How to avoid it

This video is created by Bainbridge State College

Films

Search for a film?



Click HERE  to search a film in the database

What is FOD?

Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform which provides educational films that can be shown in their entirety without fear of copyright. You can incorporate these outstanding educational programs into your course in classroom or an online course in Blackboard.

Our Plant Earth

The NewsHour: Environmental Science

  • Amazing Planet - Unlike some of the colorless rocks and featureless gas balls that populate the Solar System, Earth is vibrant in color and motion, startling in its variety of shapes and textures, and awe-inspiring in its grace and power. This three-part series employs fabulous footage and spectacular computer animations to illustrate the effects of environmental forces over geologic spans of time.
  • Cambridge Core Science Series: GeoBasics - As oil supplies dwindle, as catastrophic weather events multiply, as the ozone layer grows thinner, Earth needs geologists, geophysicists, environmentalists, and other researchers as never before! Magnificent location footage and satellite images, explanations by experts in the field, and animated diagrams that simplify complicated processes make GeoBasics a valuable addition to any study of the Earth, its systems, and humankind’s impact.
  • Deep Earth: How Earth Made Us-The Untold Story of History - Throughout history, human settlements and societies have been strangely drawn to fault lines, those mysterious places where the Earth’s crust reveals its tenuous nature, and to other areas that connect the surface of the planet with its deep interior.
  • Violent Earth - Like any celestial body, the Earth was born in violence. But our lowly human perspective creates the impression that our planet is stable, that our atmosphere will always nurture and protect us. How naive are such expectations? This program gives viewers a harrowing look at our “pale blue dot” as it experiences more destructive natural disasters with each passing year. From visits to areas affected by the 2004 southeast Asian tsunami to investigations of the massive fault threatening Istanbul, the film gets to the bottom of some key questions, such as: Is life on Earth getting more dangerous? And, what can we do to prevent future calamities? (53 minutes)

Web Sites

TRAAP Test for Evaluating Sources

Online Journals/Magazines

Evaluating Websites by GCSC Library

Getting Help

Library Hours

Fall 2020 GCC Library Hours: Mondays 9am-1pm and Thursdays 12pm to 4pm.
Assistance from librarians is available online: Monday - Thursday 8am - 9pm; Friday 8am - 6pm; Saturday 8am - 1pm.

Contact Us

 
TXT Us: (203)212-8329

Need Help? Ask a Librarian

Main Library Number 203-285-2057
Ask a question by email: library@gatewayct.edu 

Martha Lipowski, LibraryDirector

      285-2053

    mlipowski@gatewayct.edu

Mike Cifferelli

      285-2052

    mcifferelli@gatewayct.edu

Miguel Garcia III

      285-2059

    mgarcia3@gatewayct.edu

Tood Hampton

      285-2615

    thampton@gatewayct.edu

Lillian Maisfehlt   

      285-2054

    lmaisfehlt@gatewayct.edu

Conor Perreault   

      285-2089

    cperreault@gatewayct.edu

Jian Yang 

      285-2158

    jyang@gatewayct.edu

Jennifer Brown

      285-2057

    jbrown@gatewayct.edu

Bianca Brillant

      285-2057

    bbrillant@gatewayct.edu

Pam Campbell

      285-2057

    pcampbell@gatewayct.edu

John McCann

      285-2057

    jmccann@gatewayct.edu

Beth Rogers-Ho

      285-2057

    brogers-ho@gatewayct.edu

Santina Scalia 

      285-2057

    sscalia@gatewayct.edu

Tacy Woods

      285-2057

    twoods@gatewayct.edu

Chat with us!

Gateway Library & Learning Commons | 20 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06510