What Are Databases and Why You Need Them
Where Can I Find a Database?
- Go to the library’s homepage:
http://www.gatewayct.edu/Library/Library-Home
- Click on databases
Search in the Library Catalog
Search the library catalog for books, eBooks, articles, DVDs, streaming videos, and more:
-
To request items for curbside pick-up, after clicking "Search", you must sign in with your NetID and password and then select the "Request" button.
-
Ebooks can be read or downloaded on a computer or electronic device. Off campus access will require your NetID and password.
For assistance, please contact us via: email: library@gatewayct.edu text: 203-212-8329 phone: 203-285-2057
Search Techniques
Phrase Searching
The use of phrase searching by using quotations around a phrase helps to search for the exact phrase.
- Whereas, searching for “alcohol abuse” with quotes will find records with the exact phrase “alcohol abuse”
Boolean Operators
The use of boolean operators AND, NOT and OR can help to narrow or expand your search.
- AND can be used to include all of your search terms, which will narrow your search.
- NOT can be used to include either search terms, which will narrow your search.
- OR can be used to exclude a search term, which will expand your search.
Truncation
The use of truncation can help to expand your search to include related search terms.
- For instance, to search for addiction or addicted use the search term addict*
Active Filters
Limit your search by using the following filters
- full text online
- peer reviewed
- resource type
- creation date
- subject
- journal title
- author
Recommended Databases
- CINAHL Full Text
Cumulative Index to Nursing and AlliedHealth Literature) - Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals back to 1981, providing full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. -
Health Reference Center AcademicCovers a wide variety of health topics including fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II, Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary - providing users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. Searches can be restricted to evidence based practice.
- Academic Search Premier
Cross-searches all the EBSCO databases, for a comprehensive search encompassing all subject areas. - Academic OneFile
Search all the cross-searchable Gale databases, including Academic OneFile, for a comprehensive search encompassing all subject areas.
- Credo Reference
An online reference library of full-text content from encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific titles and more. -
Encyclopedia BritannicaAn authoritative information source with over 73,000 articles, media such as photos, illustrations, sound files, and interactive multimedia.
-
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- New York Times (1985 -)
Contains full-text newspaper articles from 1985 to current - Newspaper Source Plus
Contains more than 700 full-text newspapers and more than 757,000 television and radio news transcripts
What is a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed articles are the articles that have been reviewed and approved by scholars in the author's field or area of expertise. Peer reviewed journals are called peer-reviewed journals or refereed journals.
How to Find a Peer-Reviewed Article in Libraray Databases
What is peer reviewed articles?
- Peer reviewed articles are scholarly articles that have undergone a review process by other experts in the field before being published.
Search the library databases, many of which allow you to limit the search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles:
- Read the database description first, to determine whether the database includes peer-reviewed articles
- Check the box which allows you to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles. For example, Academic Search Premier, on the search screen, check the box "Limit to Peer Reviewed" under "Search Options - Limit Your Results"
- Look at the screen of "Search Results", check the box to limit peer-reviewed under the tab of "Refine Results", if you didn't set up the search for peer-reviewed articles at the beginning.