LibGuides: COM173 Public Speaking: Articles

Library Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
An authoritative information source with over 73,000 articles, media such as photos, illustrations, sound files, and interactive multimedia.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches all the EBSCO databases, for a comprehensive search encompassing all subject areas.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search all the cross-searchable Gale databases, including Academic OneFile, for a comprehensive search encompassing all subject areas.
Associate Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch, and Mass Media Articles Index, references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back 1915. It also included indices of NCA's six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.

U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Covering U.S. history from colonial times to the present, this is an integrated collection of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers; reference works; primary source documents; timelines; historical maps and atlases, and audio and video clips of historic speeches and events.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of the 20th century, and also covers the Ancient Mediterranean, Ancient Near East and Asia as well as the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the modern Middle east and Latin America. This is an integrated collection of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers; reference works; primary sources; a graphical time line, research guide, historical maps and images.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a variety of social issues such as abortion, capital punishment, affirmative action, illegal immigrants, medical ethics & more.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview, point , counterpoint, and Critical Thinking Guide. Includes more than 1,200 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics with full text articles from diverse sources, including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets and government information.

JobNow This link opens in a new window
A unique suite of resources for job seekers that includes live interview coaching, resume lab, career resources and test preparation as well as live experts to assist with utilizing MS Word, Excel or Powerpoint.

Hartford Courant: 1992-present (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news articles from 1992 to present.
New York Times (1980 -) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text newspaper articles from 1985 to current
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 700 full-text newspapers and more than 757,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Wall Street Journal (1984-present) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

	Library Databases	Search Engines
	best resources for academic research	best for non-academic and general searches
Type of Information	Information are authoritative, accurate, reliable; e.g. scholarly articles, technical publications, eBooks, popular magazines, newspapers	entertainment, leisure related information, directory information, e.g. free personal and commercial information; very few free scholarly publications
Results	more manageable number of results, information are organized and indexed	millions of results, incomplete sentences from the website, not a summary
Review Process	articles are reviewed by scholars, professors and researchers	no review/editorial process with regard to content
Example	Academic Search Premier	Google