LibGuides: HIS253 History of Human Rights: Find Articles

Gateway Library Databases

U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Covering U.S. history from colonial times to the present, this is an integrated collection of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers; reference works; primary source documents; timelines; historical maps and atlases, and audio and video clips of historic speeches and events.

Global Issues In Context
Content includes a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women’s studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society
Content includes authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on the most enduring and timely issues of the day.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Provides access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on a variety of social issues such as abortion, capital punishment, affirmative action, illegal immigrants, medical ethics & more.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview, point , counterpoint, and Critical Thinking Guide. Includes more than 1,200 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
TOPICSearch
Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics with full text articles from diverse sources, including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets and government information.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides country specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 192 countries of the world. Includes basic information on each country, updated news stories, links to official websites, etc. Topics include government, economy, investment climate, and social and environmental issues.
CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains cultural information on the countries of the world - describing backgrounds, peoples, customs, lifestyle and society. It also includes reports for US states, a searchable glossary of over 4,000 cultural terms, a photo gallery, recipe collection and famous people biographies.

Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
An online reference library of full-text content from encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific titles and more.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
An authoritative information source with over 73,000 articles, media such as photos, illustrations, sound files, and interactive multimedia.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.