LibGuides: HIS102 Western Civilization II: Find Articles

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them

eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Credo Reference (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
An online reference library of full-text content from encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific titles and more.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
An authoritative information source with over 73,000 articles, media such as photos, illustrations, sound files, and interactive multimedia.

World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of the 20th century, and also covers the Ancient Mediterranean, Ancient Near East and Asia as well as the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the modern Middle east and Latin America. This is an integrated collection of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers; reference works; primary sources; a graphical time line, research guide, historical maps and images.

Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides access to streaming video of more than 7,000 educational films in subjects across the curriculum and allows users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists and store quick links to favorite videos.

THE AGE OF LOUIS XIV
"The Age of Louis XIV." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras. Ed. Edward I. Bleiberg, et al. Vol. 5: The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment 1600-1800. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 119-125. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 23 Dec. 2017.
ABSOLUTISM
Parker, David. "Absolutism." Encyclopedia of European Social History. Ed. Peter N. Stearns. Vol. 2: Processes of Change/Population/Cities/Rural Life/State & Society. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. 439-448. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 23 Dec. 2017.
Colbert, Jean-Baptiste
AMES, GLENN J. "Colbert, Jean-Baptiste(1619–1683)." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Ed. Jonathan Dewald. Vol. 1. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 554-555. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 23 Dec. 2017.
Mercantilism
AMES, GLENN J. "Mercantilism." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Ed. Jonathan Dewald. Vol. 4. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 96-99. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 23 Dec. 2017.
Peter I the Great
HUGHES, LINDSEY. "Peter I." Encyclopedia of Russian History. Ed. James R. Millar. Vol. 3. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. 1168-1173. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 23 Dec. 2017.