Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gateway Library & Learning Commons | 20 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06510
Faculty Course Reserve
Parliamo Italiano! 3rd Edition by This communicative, culture-based introductory Italian text develops all five language skills by pairing cultural themes with essential grammar points and by organizing units around situations, functions, and regions of Italy. The authors' belief that language is culture is best illustrated by the text's up-to-date, fresh image of Italy and Italians and by the successful integration of this philosophy as an active, key part of the learning experience.
Call Number: Reserve Materials at Service Desk
Search in the Library Catalog
Search for books, videos, articles, course reserves, and more:
LC Call Number for Italian:PC1001-1977 (Language) PQ4001-5999 (Literature)
LC Call Number
Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is used in Gateway Library. View LC Classification Outline and be familiar with LC Call Number System.
The Oxford Italian Desk Dictionary by More up-to-date and useful than any other Italian dictionary of this size, the Oxford Italian Desk Dictionary offers full coverage of contemporary idiomatic Italian and English. It boasts a host of features, including wide-ranging coverage, with over 80,000 words and phrases and more than 100,000 translations; thousands of examples drawn from real speech and published sources, and selected by a team of native speakers of English and Italian; full and clear guidance to key constructions, complementation, and difficult points of grammar; and detailed coverage of the essential terminology of business, computing, and current affairs. Compact and yet authoritative, this study dictionary is perfect for travelers, students, and everyone else who needs an inexpensive guide to the Italian language.
Call Number: PC1640.O96 1997 (1st Floor)
Publication Date: 1997-08-07
Italian Verbs and Essentials of Grammar by Your one-stop guide to mastering the basics of Italian Can one book have all you need to communicate confidently in a new language? Yes, and that book is Italian Verbs & Essentials of Grammar. It offers a solid foundation of major verbal and grammatical concepts of the language, from pronouns to idioms and expressions and from irregular verbs to expressions of time. Each unit is devoted to one topic, so you can find what you need right away and get focused instruction immediately. Concise yet thorough, the explanations are supported by numerous examples to help you master the different concepts. And for those tricky verbs, Italian Verbs & Essentials of Grammar includes a Verb Index of the most common verbs, cross-referenced with the abundant verb tables appearing throughout the book. This book will give you: An excellent introduction to the basics of Italian if you are a beginner or a quick, thorough reference if you already have experience in the language Contemporary usage of verbs, adjectives, pronouns, prepositions, conjunctions, and other grammar essentials Examples that reflect contemporary usage and real-life situations
Call Number: PC1271 .G7 2008 (1st Floor)
Publication Date: 2007-10-23
501 Italian Verbs by Here is a fine quick-reference source for language students, teachers, and translators. The 501 most commonly used Italian verbs are listed in table form, one verb per page, and conjugated in all tenses, identified by English infinitive forms. Verbs are both regular and irregular, and are presented alphabetically for easy reference. Added material related to verbs and verb usage is also presented, including lists of hundreds more regular verbs, idiomatic verb usage, and more.
Call Number: PC1271 .C65 2001 (1st Floor)
Publication Date: 2001-02-01