Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gateway Library & Learning Commons | 20 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06510
What is a Lexile Score?
A Lexile score is a standard score that matches a student’s reading ability with the difficulty of the reading material.
When reader's score and that of the reading material are the same, the student is expected to read with 75% comprehension – difficult enough to be challenging without undue frustration and to encourage reading progress.
Scores range from 200 to 1700.
Lexile measures are a measure of text difficulty. They do not address age-appropriateness, student interest, or the quality of the text.
Library Databases That Use Lexile Scores
In many of the library's online databases, it is possible to select articles within a Lexile range. Use the "advanced search" option.
Most of the databases also offer audio options and translation capabilities.
Associate Programs Source Plus
– Provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content with nearly 1000 full text journals and 11 full text books.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (use "Advanced Search")
Provides access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and fulltext magazine and newspaper articles on a variety of social issues.
Points of View Reference Center (use Advanced search")
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue with more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. (Lexile scores display only; not searchable.)
Biography In Context (use Advanced Search)
Biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas
U.S. History In Context (use Advanced Search)
Covering U.S. history from colonial times to the present.
World History In Context (use Advanced Search)
Extensive coverage of the 20th century, and also covers the Ancient Mediterranean, Ancient Near East and Asia as well as the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the modern Middle east and Latin America.
Science In Context (use Advanced Search)
Focuses on key concepts in biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, math, environmental science, life science, medicine, space science, computer science, technology, history of science, science and society, science as inquiry, science-related biographies and more.
A multi-disciplinary database with coverage of all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
Biography Reference Center
Use Advanced Search.
Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.
Global Issues In Context
Content includes a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women’s studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics with full text articles from diverse sources, including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets and government information.
Sample Lexile Texts
Examples of Reading Levels
This Lexile map shows texts matched to levels of reading ability. The literature titles and reading selections are examples that range from 200L to 1700L on the Lexile scale.
Improve Your Reading Ability with Lexile Measures