Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GCC Library & Learning Commons Strategic Plan 2015-2020

Home

GCC Library & Learning Commons Strategic Plan 2015-2020

The GCC Library & Learning Commons Strategic Plan provides the guidelines for the Library over the next three years and beyond. It includes the areas of our strategic focus: student-centered service delivery, quality information resources, and current technology, to better serve the college community.

Mission & Vision

Mission & Vision

Gateway Community College Library & Learning Commons supports the mission of the college by making available a wide variety of information resources relevant to the curriculum and personal enrichment in a safe and welcoming environment. We respond to the changing academic, occupational, technological and cultural needs of a diverse population, providing information and research services that enrich student learning and success. We teach information literacy and guide users in developing and acquiring skills to become independent and lifelong learners.

As a vital partner in the college educational process, Gateway Community College Library & Learning Commons shall

  • Be the premier resources center for information for the college by providing a forward looking and dynamic collection that is diverse in scope and form.
  • Provide seamless access to resources across all formats using current and emerging technologies
  • Promote and encourage a learning environment that is collaborative, flexible and innovative.
  • Provide superior and equitable customer service to all patrons at all times.
  • Support professional growth and opportunities of all library staff in order to meet the changing needs of the user community.

Values

Values

  • Access - Providing access to information in all formats
  • Inclusiveness - Making library and information resources available to all
  • Teaching & Learning - Providing information literacy instruction and promoting learning in all forms     Deep commitment to information literacy instruction and student learning
  • Collaboration - Working together with teaching faculty and others to achieve a common goal and accomplishing more with partners working together to achieve more
  • Respect - Honoring diversity, individual differences, and the right to privacy and confidentiality
  • Accountability - Serving as a responsible steward of the college resources and trust
  • Customer Service - Providing student centered, superior patron and equitable services at all times

Strategic Directions

Strategic Directions

  1.   Organizational Culture
  • Create a culture of greater accountability, trust and excellent service
  • Encourage in the  library personnel a mindset that embraces proactive problem solving, creativity and innovation
  •  Provide staff professional development and training  programs to increase job satisfaction, performance and retention
  • Promote staff commitment to Library’s mission and shares values and goals with effective communication throughout the department
  1.   User Experience & Educational Role
  • Contribute to educational achievement by strengthening the Library’s role in supporting academic programs and student learning
  • Support self-directed learning by enhancing resources and adapting emerging technologies

 3.  Support Workforce & Economic Development

  • Adopt new technologies to increase access to resources that address 21st century literacies such as technology, ESL and adult literacy
  • Educate for online readiness, emphasizing basic skills for applications and job searches
 
  1.   Community Engagement
  • Customize service delivery to the needs of the individual academic communities
  • Respond to the evolving needs of the community beyond the college to build partnership and collaborations
  1.   Outreach/Marketing
  • Heighten awareness of the library’s vast resources and services
  1.   Assessment
  • Continually assess resources and services to ensure continuous improvement
  • Involve all students, faculty, staff and administration in the assessment process
  • Develop a comprehensive outcome assessment system

Library Goals & Objectives

Library Goals & Objectives

Goal 1: Collection

To maintain optimal resources to support the teaching and learning needs of the community

Objectives

  1.  To evaluate and develop the print and electronic collections to support the programs and curriculum of the college
  2. Establish a formal faculty and library liaison program for academic departments.
  3. Maintain optimal resources to support the education and curriculum of the college

Goal 2:  Access

To provide access to a variety of electronic and information resources

Objectives

  1. Provide improved access to appropriate e-book collections and online databases.
  2. Continue to evaluate and re-design the library's webpage. 
  3. Establish online reserves and a document delivery system.
  4. Align resources and services more closely with user needs and provide services and support to users anytime and anywhere.

Goal 3:  Information Literacy

To expand and teach information literacy skills in collaboration with teaching faculty

Objectives:

  1. Equip the information literacy instruction room with new instructional hardware and software for active learning. 
  2. Continue to evaluate and develop an extensive and comprehensive information literacy instruction program with relevant outcome assessment.
  3. Find a suitable information literacy tool that can be used by faculty and students.
  4. Integrate more library resources and services into instructional tools (e.g. Blackboard).
  5. Create tutorials to educate users about new and existing information resources and services.
  6. Extend hours and expand virtual/online reference service.
  7. Collect user feedback on existing instructional services and identify/implement appropriate changes in response to user needs
 

Goal 4: Discovery

To improve users’ experiences in the library with retrieval of research and information literacy resources    

Objectives:

  1. Work with GCC Information Technology, BOR CSCU Information Technology to increase the capabilities and network reliability of all library computing resources.
  2. Collaborate with CSCU libraries to provide a resource discovery software product which unites most of the library’s print, electronic, and consortial offerings and establish a shared Library System

Goal 5:  Engagement

To engage with the college community to foster cooperative relationships     

Objectives:

  1.  Link library programs to accreditation standards.
  2.  Establish a campus-wide library advisory committee.
  3.  Assess library involvement in core curriculum and foster partnerships with faculty and departments.

Goal 6:  Collaboration

To collaborate with departments and other organizations on teaching and learning

Objective:

  1. Continue to participate in regional and statewide organizations to increase easy access to materials not in the library's collection.
  2. Continue outreach programs to schools and community organizations

Goal 7:  Outreach & Marketing
To increase awareness and use of library resources and services

Objective:  

  1. Market new and existing services and evaluate whether those efforts translate into increased use.
  2. Develop better signage and install new display case.
  3. Provide outreach to the college community via the liaison program.
  4. Develop and host new events (e.g. open house for new faculty and students).
 

Goal 8:  Staff Development

To identify staff development needs and offer programs to meet them

Objectives:

  1. Assess staff development needs, especially in light of organizational transition and new initiatives.
  2. Provide training opportunities in line with identified needs.
  3. Investigate and provide opportunities for staff training/development.
  4. Continue to support open communication to foster a cooperative/collaborative workplace.

Goal 9: Library Space

To provide atmosphere conducive to learning for all (ie. security, noise level, enclosed study cubicles on the first floor of the library)

 

 

Initiatives to be updated annually based on students information needs and outcomes from the college assessment process.

Gateway Library & Learning Commons | 20 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06510