Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gateway Library & Learning Commons | 20 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06510
Located inside the arched radius of windows that has become the icon for Gateway's new downtown campus, the two-story library and learning commons houses the resources of 50,000 print books, over 160,000 eBooks,192 periodical subscriptions with all subjects covered. Special collections including African-American History (AAHCC), Children's Literature (JUV), English as a Second Language (ESL) and the Small Business Resource Center.
Search the library catalog for books, eBooks, articles, DVDs, streaming videos, and more:
- To request items for curbside pick-up, after clicking "Search", you must sign in with your NetID and password and then select the "Request" button.
- Ebooks can be read or downloaded on a computer or electronic device. Off campus access will require your NetID and password.
For assistance, please contact us via: phone: 203-285-2057 email: email@example.com text: 203-212-8329
LC Call Number
Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is used in Gateway Library. View LC Classification Outline and be familiar with LC Call Number System.
Information on the NEW APA Publication Manual 7th Edition
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: GCC Library Desk Reference BF76.7 .P83 2020 c.1
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by
Call Number: REF BF31 .G35 2016 v.1 & 2
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Provides a 800-entry survey of the field of psychology including notable people, theories, and terms, as well as landmark case studies and experiments. Presenting authoritative information in an accessible manner.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by
Call Number: REF RC437 .G36 2008 v.1 & v. 2
Publication Date: 2007-11-26
The Encyclopedia includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
Freud's World by
Call Number: REF BF109.F74 C665 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
Comprising well-known and obscure information, this compendium provides a historical context to the facts of Sigmund Freud's life, theories, and influence on society. *
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Psychology by
Call Number: REF BF81 .O94 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-13
This volume describes the historical development of psychology in countries throughout the world. Contributors provide narratives that examine the political and socioeconomic forces that have shaped their nations' psychologies.
A History of Modern Psychology by
Call Number: BF105 .G66 2005
Publication Date: 2004-04-20
Goodwin's book provides an account of the lives and contributions of psychology's pioneers, along with their original writings, ofWatson, James, Titchener, Freud, and more.