Skip to main content

Biology/Microbiology

Find Research Resources

GatewaySearch

Search the library catalog for books, eBooks, articles, DVDs, streaming videos, and more:

 
  • To request items for curbside pick-up, after clicking "Search", you must sign in with your NetID and password and then select the "Request" button.
  • Ebooks can be read or downloaded on a computer or electronic device. Off campus access will require your NetID and password.

For assistance, please contact us via:  email: library@gatewayct.edu  text: 203-212-8329  phone: 203-285-2057  

Library Databases Selected for Research

Online Resources

  • The Biology Corner - The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers and students.  It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics for all levels, including introductory life science and advanced placement biology.
  • bioRxiv - A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
  • The Catalogue of Life - The online database of the world's known species of animals, plants, fungi and micro-organisms.
  • Darwin Manuscript Project - The primary evidence for the birth and maturation of Darwin's attempts to explore and explain the natural world.
  • DNA Learning Center - The mission of the DNA Learning Center is to prepare students and families to thrive in the gene age.
  • Human Genome Project Information Archive - Includes educational resources and an extensive glossary of biology terms.
  • National Center for Biotechnical Information - The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
  • Science.gov - Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
  • Tree of Life Web Project - The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).

Citation Styles & Tools

Citation Styles - APA, MLA, Chicago, CSE, ASA

Cover Art          

Citation Generators

 

ZoteroBib is a free service that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It's the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide bibliographies.  ZoteroBib FAQs   

 
    Citefast - It is a free citation generator. Citefast will help you create citations for your research resources and organize them alphabetically and create your Works Cited page. View the video tutorial on the left to learn how to use this citation tool.

           

Ask a Librarian

Contact Us

Main Library Number 203-285-2057

Martha Lipowski, LibraryDirector

      285-2053

    mlipowski@gatewayct.edu

Mike Cifferelli

      285-2052

    mcifferelli@gatewayct.edu

Miguel Garcia III

      285-2059

    mgarcia3@gatewayct.edu

Tood Hampton

      285-2615

    thampton@gatewayct.edu

Lillian Maisfehlt   

      285-2054

    lmaisfehlt@gatewayct.edu

Conor Perreault   

      285-2089

    cperreault@gatewayct.edu

Jian Yang 

      285-2158

    jyang@gatewayct.edu

Jennifer Brown

      285-2057

    jbrown@gatewayct.edu

Bianca Brillant

      285-2057

    bbrillant@gatewayct.edu

Pam Campbell

      285-2057

    pcampbell@gatewayct.edu

John McCann

      285-2057

    jmccann@gatewayct.edu

Beth Rogers-Ho

      285-2057

    brogers-ho@gatewayct.edu

Santina Scalia 

      285-2057

    sscalia@gatewayct.edu

Tacy Woods

      285-2057

    twoods@gatewayct.edu

Call Us
(203)285-2057
TXT Us
(203)212-8329
Email Us
library@gatewayct.edu
Research
Appointments
Gateway Library & Learning Commons | 20 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06510