Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gateway Library & Learning Commons | 20 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06510
LC Call Number
Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is used in Gateway Library. View LC Classification Outline and be familiar with LC Call Number System.
Search in the Library Catalog
Search for books, videos, articles, course reserves, and more:
Selected Gateway Library Reference Resources
Newton's Telecom Dictionary by
Call Number: REF TK5102.N49 2011 - 1st Floor Main Shelving Area
This dictionary gives detailed definitions on every form of transmission and switching technology available. It includes many new standards, new technologies and new vendor-specific terms.
Data and Telecommunications Dictionary by
Call Number: REF TK5102.P48 1999 - 1st Floor Main Sheving Area
This illustrated dictionary - a technical, comprehensive, standard-setting reference - compiles more than 9000 terms and concepts. The book presents the material in this field in a consistent and relevant manner, and contains timelines and charts. It has appendices with complete ATM information and a chart of telecom history, and lists of acronyms, abbreviations and their expanded meanings.
McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Networking and Telecommunications by
Call Number: REF TK5102.S48 2001 - 1st Floor Main Shelving Area
"Authoritative and up-to-date, this book and CD-ROM package is filled with thousands of explanations and analyses of core and cutting-edge networking and telecommunications topics - from Abilene to QoS to ZAWS. Extensive cross-referencing throughout helps you understand the relationship among the technologies. This is a resource for every network professional, as well as technology investors, marketing managers, head hunters, technology writers, and anyone interested in networking. The book also includes the most comprehensive guide to Internet engineering documents (RFCs) available today."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Desktop Encyclopedia of Telecommunications by
Call Number: REF TK5102.M85 2002 - 1st Floor Main Shelving Area
Going beyond the simple definitions provided in telecom dictionaries, the massive and comprehensive Desktop Encyclopedia provides detailed 3-5 page articles, complete with diagrams and tables, that fully explain key telecommunications technologies, protocols, and principles.
The Communications Handbook by
Call Number: REF TK5101 .C6583 2002 - 1st Floor Main Shelving Area
For more than six years, The Communications Handbook stood as the definitive, one-stop reference for the entire field. With new chapters and extensive revisions that reflect recent technological advances, the second edition is now poised to take its place on the desks of engineers, researchers, and students around the world. From fundamental theory to state-of-the-art applications, The Communications Handbook covers more areas of specialty with greater depth that any other handbook available.
Telecommunications Technology Handbook by
Call Number: REF TK5101 .M565 2003 - 1st Floor Main Sheving Area
The telecommunications industry is going through challenging times, and this extensively revised second edition of the bestselling Telecommunications Technology Handbook is the resource you need to meet these challenges head on and to thrive in today's telecom industry. To forecast market demand accurately and predictably, you can turn to the new section on marketing analysis techniques and market data sampling. Broadband, Ethernet, and wireless are emerging as de facto transmission technologies for enterprise networks, and new extensive coverage of these transmission technologies provides the hands-on knowledge you need to keep your career and your organization's networking architecture on track.